[Skip Navigation]

Renew My Certification


State Requirements: Requirements differ between counties.

Food Protection Manager: Although certification is not mandatory in all counties, Food Protection Managers must demonstrate knowledge. Passing an accredited Food Safety Manager certification exam is one way to meet the requirement.

Food Handlers: Required - must take an approved ANSI/ASTM 2659 course.

Exceptions: Maricopa, Coconino and Pima counties require Food Protection Manager Certification.

Food Manager Training Hours: Not required but recommended.

Food Handler Course: Required to take an ANSI/ASTM-2659 course. 

Food Manager Certification and Food Handler Certificate Renewal: Every 3 years.

National Registry of Food Safety Professionals Acceptance: Yes

Course Materials Available: Yes

Approved Options: Classroom, Proctored Online and Pearson Vue Centers. Please check with your local jurisdiction or regulatory body for the most current information.