[Skip Navigation]

Renew My Certification


State Requirements: Demonstrate knowledge - see exceptions.

Food Protection Manager: Although certification is not mandatory, food workers must demonstrate knowledge and passing an accredited Food Safety Manager certification exam is one way to meet the requirement.

Food Handlers: Recommended but not required - see exceptions.

Exceptions: Food Protection Manager: Accomack County (including Towns of Parksley & Onacock), Alexandria City, Arlington County, Chesapeake City, Fairfax City, Fairfax County (including Towns of Clifton, Herndon, & Vienna), Falls Church City, Gloucester County, Hampton City, Newport News City, Norfolk City, Northampton County (including Town of Cheriton), Portsmouth City, & Virginia Beach City require Food Manager Certification. 

Food Handler: City of Franklin, James City County, City of Newport News, City of Norfolk, City of Poquoson, City of Portsmouth, County of Southampton, City of Suffolk, City of Williamsburg, & County of York require Food Handler cards.

Manager Training Hours: Specific training regulations.

Food Handler Course: Specific training regulations.

Food Manager Certification and Food Handler Certificate Renewal: Food Manager is every 3 or 5 years depending on the county. Food Handler renewal requirements vary by jurisdictions, please contact your local health department for specific information. 

National Registry of Food Safety Professionals Acceptance: Yes

Course Materials Available: Yes

Approved Options: Classroom, Proctored Online and Pearson Vue Centers. Please check with your local jurisdiction or regulatory body for the most current information.